Deliciously Desserty Smoothies

I never get up in time for breakfast; I leave at 7.20am to get to work and there’s no way I’m losing those last few minutes in bed for a couple of slices of toast.  Nope.

But I do really love a smoothie.

I think they are a yummy way to start the day, pretty healthy considering all the fruit (though be mindful of sugar – albeit natural!) and you can have them on the go. For me, on the 7.46am train.

As an aside, these were a lifesaver when I had morning sickness for my entire first (aka worst) trimester. I think I would have existed purely on white carbs without these smoothies!

Here’s my favourites, I think they are the scrummiest of all my creations.

For each smoothie you just pop all the ingredients in the blender. There’s no skill involved.

In no particular order….

1. Peach Melba

Fresh and fruity. I love peaches, especially mooshed up into a desserty breakfast.

peach melba smoothie

  • Handful of raspberries (fresh or frozen – I used frozen)
  • Handful of sliced peaches (fresh, frozen or canned – I used canned and a couple of tablespoons of the peach juice it was canned in was a nice addition too)
  • 3 heaped tablespoons of vanilla yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon of superfood powder
  • Approx 250ml milk and top up as required for preferred thickness and blendability!

2. Black Forest

One of my favourites! The avocado makes it super creamy (don’t worry, it doesn’t taste like guacamole).

black forest smoothie

  • Quarter avocado
  • Handful of pitted cherries (fresh of frozen – I use frozen)
  • 2 x teaspoons raw caocao powder
  • Teaspoon of superfood powder
  • Approx 250ml milk (top up as required)

3. Banoffee Pie

I don’t actually like banoffee pie the dessert, but I love bananas in smoothies.

banoffee pie smoothie

  • 3 tablespoons (or single portion tub – I get the muller ones) of toffee yogurt
  • One frozen banana
  • 2 x teaspoons of raw caocao powder
  • Teaspoon of maca powder
  • Teaspoon of baobab powder
  • Squeeze of honey
  • Approx 250ml milk (top up as required)

4. Blueberry Pie

Super yummy and a very instagrammable shade of purple!

blueberry pie smoothie

  • 3 tablespoons vanilla yogurt
  • Half a frozen banana
  • Handful of blueberries (fresh of frozen)
  • Teaspoon of maca powder
  • Teaspoon of baobab powder
  • 2 x teaspoons of raw caocao powder
  • Squeeze of honey
  • Approx 300ml milk (and top up as required)

5. Bakewell Tart

Because, cake for breakfast obvs!  This one has ‘bits’ in because of the blended nuts and raspberries.

bakewell tart smoothie

  • 3 tablespoons of vanilla yogurt
  • Small handful of almonds
  • 4 or 5 pitted cherries
  • Handful of raspberries (fresh of frozen)
  • Quarter avocado
  • Teaspoon of superfood powder
  • 2 teaspoons of honey
  • Approx 300ml almond milk

Substitutions:

You can substitute anything you like – it’s your breakfast after all.

But my suggestions:

Milk – I used cow’s milk but any milk will work; almond milk is a good option for vegans and won’t change the overall flavour too much.

Superfood powders – I mainly use maca and baobab because they are my favourites taste-wise. But I also use lacuma, moringa, wheatgrass and spirulina. The will affect the taste a bit so have a play to find your favourite mix.

Banana / avocado – these make the smoothie creamy. Avocado doesn’t add anything flavour wise. They are basically interchangeable. Swap half a banana for a quarter avocado.

Yogurt – I like the thickness these bring and the add many of the desserty flavours. There are good vegan options for coconut and vanilla yogurt readily available. I’d be interested to know if toffee is an easily sourced vegan yogurt – so let me know in the comments and I’ll link through to it!

Extras:

  • I quite often throw in a handful of raw baby spinach; it doesn’t affect the taste and, you know, Popeye says so.
  • Add a touch of matcha for a morning boost (probs not if your preggars like me though).
  • Change up your berries. So fresh!
  • Add a scoop of protein powder for a more substantial (and calorific!) meal.
  • Seeds: add some chia, sesame, flax etc. Just stir them in at the end. Chia will swell up so don’t leave it too long!

Leave a comment